NMTC Bursary

At NMTC we take huge pride that we can annually award a bursary to help one of our members develop their musical theatre career. In 2016, it was awarded to Josh Wright, who joined the group in 2012 whilst studying at Malcom Arnold Academy. In September 2016, Josh was able to continue pursuing his dream of becoming a leading man on the West End stage as he was accepted to study at Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts.


The Joy Wilson Memorial Trophy

This trophy is awarded to one of our cast members each year for either their Commitment or Performance.

The decision is made by the committee and is presented annually.

Name Year Reason
Ben Stanton  2017 His role as “The Lion” in Wizard Of Oz and “Edwin” in Summer Holiday
George Johnston 2016 His role as Danny in Grease, and his commitment to fundraising activities
Mindy Robinson 2015 Her role as Mother Superior in Sister Act
Susie Pack 2014 Her roles as Bloody Mary in South Pacific and Elsie in Blitz!
Beth Hodgson 2013 Her role as Ado Annie in Oklahoma!

 The Ray Stutley Memorial Award

This trophy is awarded to any member of our company each year for long service on and off stage.

The decision is made by the committee and is presented annually.

Name Year Reason

Robert Laurie

Lotti Franks



For Long Service and Commitment on and off stage 

For her years’ service as Dance Captain

Mark Maryan 2015 Commitment to fundraising and sourcing sponsors
John Eason 2014 Long Service to the company
Cliff Billing 2013 Long Service to the company

George Johnston

Picture 2 of 8

George Johnston, Winner of Joy Wilson Award 2016 for his role as Danny in Grease, and his commitment to fundraising activities

Award Winning Shows

NODA, the National Amateur and Dramatic Association, has regions across the UK. Since 2006, the NODA East Midlands Region has held an annual ceremony where they award several prizes. Within the East Midlands Region, there are 8 Districts. NMTC is a member of District 8, “Northamptonshire and Milton Keynes”, and we are proud to be regular winners of the Best Musical Award in our District. One award is given out per District in the Region.

For the Programme and Posters competitions, the group must submit 4 physical copies for judging, after District winners are chosen, they are passed onto the UK competition. As NMTC often sell out of their programmes, we felt it is better to sell them to our guests than enter the competition. Therefore we only enter the competition on the rare occasion that we have some left over!

There is also an award given for the Best Show (overall best Panto, Musical or Drama) in the whole of the East Midlands Region, the Hinks-Cole Trophy. The Tailby Trophy is presented for the runner-up in this category. However, to be eligible to win this, the East Midlands Councillor must personally attend your production. As our region’s Councillor (Nanette Lovell) is a member of our company (and often on our stage!) we often forfeit from this prize.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. This site uses cookies from WordPress.com and selected partners. To find out more, as well as how to remove or block these, see the Cookie Policy linked at the bottom of every page.